2017 Benefit Young Pioneers Award Recipients



The Jewish Education Project is proud to announce the newest cohort of five New York City-based educators to be recognized through the organization’s Young Pioneers Award.


Recipients of the award are chosen based on their demonstrated initiative to motivate colleagues and lay leaders to embrace exciting new ideas that better engage children and families through Jewish education. This year’s recipients include:

Sara Duani, Yeshiva Har Torah
Eliana Light, Park Avenue Synagogue
Adam Metzger, JCC Manhattan
Andrew Paull, BBYO
Rabbi Mara Young, Woodlands Community Temple

For the first time in the award’s history, The Jewish Education Project is releasing five short digital videos celebrating each of these Young Pioneers Award recipients, featuring a unique behind-the-scenes look at their classrooms, synagogues and other diverse educational settings.

Whether through teen rock bands, immersive Hebrew language experiences or entrepreneurial work within organizations like BBYO, recipients of the Young Pioneers Award – now numbering 30 educators since the award’s inception in 2012 – have created innovative Jewish learning experiences in their classrooms and institutions to inspire their communities in creative new ways.

“We are always so impressed and inspired by all the educators nominated for the Young Pioneers Award,” says Robert Sherman, CEO of The Jewish Education Project. “This year, we hope the addition of a video engagement strategy will broaden the influence of these innovative Jewish educators, and will inspire others to follow their lead, creating meaningful experiences that can change the lives of children, teens and families.”


2017 Benefit logo