Virtual Benefit 2020 | Young Pioneers


Virtual Benefit 2020 Honorees - Fred Claar and Lois Kohn-Claar
The Jewish Education Project is proud to announce the newest cohort of five New York City area based educators to be recognized with the 2020 Robert M. Sherman Young Pioneers Award.
Recipients of the 2020 Robert M. Sherman Young Pioneers Award

Recipients of the award are chosen based on their demonstrated initiative to motivate colleagues and lay leaders to embrace exciting new ideas that better engage children and families through Jewish education. Click on a recipient's name below to learn more about them and their transformative work:

Lauren BelferderTemple Sinai of Roslyn 

Carly NamdarHebrew Academy of Long Beach

Dina NewmanCongregation Rodeph Sholom

Phreddy NosanwischConservative Synagogue Adath Israel of Riverdale

Jonathan Shmidt ChapmanCongregation Beit Simchat Torah 

About the award

The Jewish Education Project announces the Robert M. Sherman Young Pioneers Award

The Young Pioneers Award is named for Robert M. Sherman, the CEO of The Jewish Education Project from 2007 until July 2019. During his tenure, he launched the Young Pioneers Award and several new initiatives at The Jewish Education Project. Since 2012, the Robert M. Sherman Young Pioneers Award has recognized 40 Jewish educators from greater New York that push the boundaries in Jewish education. Recipients work in day schools, camps, youth groups, supplementary schools,                                                                     community centers, seminaries and in foundation settings.

Robert M. Sherman Young Pioneers Award